Academic Calendar

The full English version of the VSE academic calendar is available here.

More details about important deadlines and regularly held special events is to be found here.

Academic year 2020/2021

Winter Semester 2020 (WS)
Official start and end Tue 1 September 2020 – Sun 14 February 2021
Orientation and matriculation week for new students of international programmes Wed 16 September 2020 – Fri 18 September 2020
Classes held from – to
(13 weeks)
Mon 29 September 2020 – Fri 18 December 2020
Dean’s Day
classes and office hours cancelled
due to the current situation the Dean’s Day is cancelled
Exam period
(6 weeks)
Mon 21 December 2020 – Fri 23 December 2020

Mon 28 December 2020 – Tue 29 December 2020

Mon 4 January 2021 – Fri 5 February 2021

Public holidays
University closed, classes not held
Mon 28 September 2020
Wed 28 October 2020
Tue 17 November 2020
Thu-Fri 24-25 December 2020
Fri 1 January 2021
Summer Semester 2021 (SS)
Official start and end Mon 15 February 2021 – Sat 31 August 2021
Classes held from – to
(13 weeks)
Mon 15 February 2021 – Fri 14 May 2021
Dean’s Day
classes and office hours cancelled
Thu 1 April 2021
Rector’s Sports Day
sport activities offered, no classes
Wed 28 April 2021
Exam period
(6 weeks)
Mon 17 May 2021 – Fri 25 June 2021
Public holidays
University closed, classes not held
Fri 2 April 2021 (Good Friday)
Mon 5 April 2021 (Easter Monday)
Sat 1 May 2021
Sat 8 May 2021
Mon-Tue 5-6 July 2021

General Information

The essential dates of the academic calendar (such as semester starting and ending dates) are common for the whole university. An academic year starts on 1 September and ends on 31 August of the following calendar year.

It is divided into two semesters, traditionally called

  • Winter Semester (WS, in Czech: zimní semestr/ZS; in some texts also referred to as Fall/Autumn/First semester), and
  • Summer Semester (SS, in Czech: letní semestr/LS; in some texts also referred to as Spring/Second semester).

Each semester consists of 13 weeks of lecture period, followed by a 6-week exam period.

  • WS classes usually start in mid-September and end before Christmas.
  • SS classes usually start in mid-February and end in mid-May.

July and August are considered as summer holiday period.

Classes and exams are usually held from Monday to Friday; some may take place on Saturdays (intensive courses, executive education, courses for part-time students/students in combined form of study).